I HAVE ARRIVED…safely back home.

Me at the IBPA booth, and that's one of my team members behind me.
Me at the IBPA booth, and that’s one of my team members behind me. He thinks he’s funny. We think he is too:)

I’m back from my trip to the Book Expo America in New York. I had so much fun…once I stopped freaking out.
Here’s my little story…
I went with a team…my peeps, and we represented ERAMANE as best we could, minus the banter we flung at passers-by (I think at one point I said all vowels to one lady.)

I think I'm funny too.
I think I’m funny too.

When we arrive at the Javits Center, I was immediately congratulated by the lady who checked my in and gave me and my team out badges (thanks nice lady) and that set the tone for the rest of my experience.
I was extremely nervous, because here I am, little ol’ me, among (by that I mean off in a corner, nowhere near them) some of the greatest writers of today. Yet, from the moment I walked through the doors I was treated like “the Queen,” as Margaery Tyrell says in Game of Thrones.
Once I found the IBPA booth, I was immediately greeted by Terry Nathan and Molly ??? (I’m sure she has a last name, but in this post it’s a series of question marks.) They took me in and fed me, no better way to put it really. Thanks guys!
The signing was a hit; I ran out of 30 books in under 15 minutes (who knew?) and had to hand out rain-check forms to the ones who didn’t get their free signed copy.
All-in-all, though, despite that I ran out of books, ERAMANE was noticed. My sign caught the attention of anyone who walked by…and there were soooo many! I even heard people say, “Hey I saw that online.” And, “WTF???!!! Really? Awesome!” to myself of course.
Oh, and my husband lost his [soul]. Yup the bottom of his shoe came right off just before we reached the Javits Center. Funny story…I’m going tell it.
Okay, so we were walking from the ferry terminal to the BEA and we all heard this duck-ish noise. My husband, holding a box of ERAMANE books, looks down and sees that his sole is flappin’. Then (and you might not believe this) we look across the street and a truck opens it back door and guess what’s inside??? Yes!!! Fricking black shoes just like the ones my hubs is wearing. Boxes and boxes. They just start unloading them onto a table and putting yellow signs up with prices. It was crazy. But no, we didn’t buy any…he had another pair in the car back at the hotel, so I just told him to walk quietly, “Don’t draw attention to it!” His shoe made it back to the car at the end of the day…then to the trash:(
Well if you made it this far, I’m happy that you cared enough to learn about my experience at my first ever book expo. The way things are going, it looks like I will be attending many more. I belong in the book world; I plan on staying here.

 

6 thoughts on “I HAVE ARRIVED…safely back home.”

  1. I agree about your sign catching attention. I tend to speed walk and stopped short after passing it. (I really hope no one was behind me LOL) You weren’t there but one of your team members handed me a card. Maybe we’ll run into each other at another convention 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations on the book, and I’m glad to hear you had such a good time at the expo! I can’t imagine what that feels like, but I’m sure it’s amazing. That’s funny what happened with your husband, too–like crazy fate. Sorry if this is incredibly off topic, but my husband wears his clothes into the ground (even has a hole in his sole right now!). He has a good pair, too, but he won’t put them on until these literally fall apart. Grrr. 🙂

    Like

  3. I like so much the second photo! 😀 Congratulation on the book, the event, It sounds very funny and look very well, and With many books! by the way, the shoe! at least your husband had another shoe pair.

    Like

Leave a Reply

