Writing and Rewriting and Writing and Rewriting

type writer trash

REWRITES. What can I say about them? Oh I know…they suck!

I am in the process of rewriting 30k words. For me, it’s seriously the toughest part of writing. This project I’m working on can really go the way I have it now, the thing is (and fellow writers will agree that they are too vexed by the agonizing voice in their mind that says, “But what if it was like this?”) I’m seeing it transform into something else, and I like that something else better. So, what should I do? Should I continue writing the original, not willing to let go of a month’s work?

PAH! That’s outlandish! What kind of writer would I be if I weren’t telling the best possible story I could tell? We all know the answer to that. So, here I am, taking a break from deleting and typing to write to you lovely folks.

Every writer experiences this; none are immune. There are no perfect first drafts, and there are countless deaths of thousands of words. I am trudging through this rewrite, tweaking it, crafting it into what I know is a better version. And I will survive the agony of watching large amounts of highlighted blue text disappear into the nothingness. But I will not weep for them, for they served a purpose. Yes, they did…perfect placeholders, the wrong words holding a spot until the right ones came along. Thank you wrong words. I’m sure that I may call upon you again.

Leave a Reply

